Recipes · Uncategorized

Quick and Easy Cheat Pot Pie

*I have had a time and a half trying to write this post. This post is not as lengthy as the previous post written, but it still gets the point across…aka yummy Pot Pie. Without going into too much detail I will say I am going to write my blogs in Google Docs then transfer into, my beloved, WordPress.*

15910282_10154982770099470_1110127666_n

To anyone who participated in #whatsunderthecrust? and guess pot pie of any kind, you are right! Mr. Charming tried to throw everyone off, but most of you didn’t take the bait. This is the easiest, cheapest, yet amazingly satisfying  pot pie. Mr. Charming likes to call it Sultry Poultry Pie. The first time he said that name I about feel over laughing. He is still so proud of himself for coming up with that. I have to say I am too 🙂

This is by no means an authentic, made from scratch Chicken Pot Pie. It is a quick, let me get dinner on the table, but I want it to still be comforting and delicious as well Chicken Pot Pie. I add a egg wash and garlic salt to the top of my crust to really set it apart from just being frozen pie crust (which lets be honestly, is quite scrumptious on its own).

Lets jump into the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 2 frozen pie crusts (Thawed)
  • 2 cups chopped Chicken or Turkey
  • 1 can Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 1 15oz can Veg-All (rinsed and drained)
  • 2 tbs Milk or Water
  • 2 tsps Garlic powder
  • 2 tsps Onion powder
  • 1 tsp Poultry seasoning
  • Salt/Pepper to taste
  • 1 Egg; beaten
  • ½ tsp Garlic Salt (reserved for crust)

15645414_10154980467614470_2146961172_n

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450*F
  2. Spray pie pan with nonstick spray and place thawed pie crust in pie pan.
  3. Combine chicken, veg-all, cream of chicken, seasonings, and milk/water.
  4. Pour mixture into pie crust.
  5. Carefully cover mixture with 2nd thawed pie crust, and connect it with bottom crust by pinching or pressing down with a spoon(my preference) or fork.
  6. Brush the top pie crust with the beaten egg and cut 2 or 3 slits on top for ventilation.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes, then remove from oven and cover edges with foil.
  8. Return to oven and continue baking for 10-12 minutes or until top is golden and glossy.
  9. When it is done let sit for 10-15 minutes before cutting.
  10. Cut and serve!!

 

I love cutting the pie into 6 pieces and serving with a nice side salad topped with my homemade vinaigrette (foreshadowing for future blog post hehehe).

PS: Bloging mishaps. I was being so careful and then SPLAT. I almost cried. With the one at the top I didn’t even try! I just scooped it out really quickly for the always starving Mr.Charming (That was an unintentional rhyme…but I ain’t mad at it)

15878679_10154982769674470_1243310892_n

Leave a Reply

