Recipes · Uncategorized

Apple Pecan Blondies

At the moment there are apples galore in my house. My sweet husband took me apple picking at Sky Top Orchard in Flat Rock, North Carolina for my birthday. This place is absolutely magical! I would recommend it to anyone. They have apple picking August-October, hay rides, TONS of apple goodies, a kids play area, pumpkin and gourds, amazingly delicious homemade cider, petting zoo, and to top it all off they have hot apple cider donuts! The smell of the doughnuts enticed me from the moment I opened the car door. Mark your calendars to go next year!!

While we were picking I might have gotten too excited and picked a ridiculous amount of apples. I even made my loving husband climb a few trees to get the best ones. He didn’t mind though, if anything I think he was excited for an excuse to climb a couple trees 🙂

Since coming home I have made spiced apples with our dinner far too many times, although my husband would say not nearly enough.

I wanted to come up with a recipe inspired by our trip to Sky Top. I also wanted a recipe in my box that I can pull out anytime I want to make something special for my husband or dad. They both adore apple desserts.

14958853_10154762039109470_623355257_n

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup-1 stick butter (melted)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 apple (diced into small cubes)
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 4 tablespoons cinnamon sugar (2 tbs cinnamon mixed with 2 tbs white sugar)

Instructions 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×9 glass dish
  2. Cream together melted butter and sugars.
  3. Add in egg and vanilla and beat to combine
  4. In a separate bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon
  5. Combine dry mixture into the wet mixture
  6. Mix apples and pecans into batter using a wooden spoon. The mix will be loaded with yummy goodies, so just make sure the batter coats the apples and pecans.
  7. Spread blondie mix into the glass dish and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.
  8. Bake for 45 minutes or until knife comes out clean.
  9. Remove from oven and let cool.
  10. While it is cooling you can make a simple vanilla bean glaze (see recipe below)
  11. Drizzle glaze over blondies, and serve!! Gobble yours up before your dad or husband try to steal it!

14937057_10154762039359470_73317212_n

This recipe is insanely easy to whip together. These blondies are sure to please a crowd.

Enjoy, love bugs, and let me know what you think!!

*Vanilla Bean Glaze- Whisk together 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar with 4 tbs milk and 1 tsp vanilla bean paste..boom…done..glaze.

14937975_10154762038974470_345320448_n

 

Leave a Reply

