Recipes · Uncategorized

Not So Traditional Bolognese Sauce

14569714_10154663656689470_511479825_n*Let me get this out of the way: I will never claim that my bolognese recipe is anything close to traditional. I’m sure there is another name I could use to better describe it, but I’m not sure what that word might be. It is nonetheless an amazingly delicious recipe!

This sauce is such a versatile staple to have in your recipe box. I use it in my lasagna, tossed with some noodles, on top of eggplant Parmesan, as a topping on some yummy bread, over your favorite ravioli, and anything else your mind can think up.

I have Italian sausage in my recipe…because lets be honest, I will always try to find a way to use sausage in any meal. I like to think I balance it out with some yummy veggies packed in there. You will notice that there is no celery in here, my husband isn’t a fan of celery so I don’t use it. However, celery would be a delicious addition.

This is not a recipe passed down on old, crinkled, weathered, paper from person to person. My family is not Italian, and I did not grow up eating authentic Italian dishes. I will say that the Olive Garden is my friend Tammy, and I’s favorite place to catch up. We especially love the Zepploi! Oh my lanta, those are quite yummy. They melt in your mouth, and have two delicious sauces you can use to dunk! If you’re out there OG holla at ya girl because obviously I love you.

I say all of that to tell you that traditional Italian is not my forte, but scrumptious food is!

Alright, it is finally recipe time!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 lb Italian sausage
  • 2 (16 oz) cans tomato sauce
  • 1 (16 oz) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 1 onion-diced
  • 2 carrots-diced
  • 1 bell pepper-diced
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms-diced
  • 4 cloves minced garlic
  • 2 tbs roughly chopped basil (You can use dried too!)
  • 1 tbs dried oregano
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 3 cups of beef broth
  • Salt/Pepper to taste
  • 2 tbs sugar
  • 1 cup milk

Instructions:

  1. Brown ground beef and sausage over medium high heat in a pot. My personal favorite is a Dutch oven.
  2. When meat is 80% cooked drain excess grease and return to heat. Add in all your veggies: onion, bell pepper, carrots, mushrooms, and garlic as well as a pinch of salt then stir together.
  3. Let veggies soften for 5-7 minutes and incorperate your can of tomato paste into the meat and vegtable mix.
  4. Dump in cans of tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, all of your spices, and stir.
  5. Once your sauce is boiling add in half of your beef broth. Keep the rest on hand to add if you notice the sauce getting too thick.
  6. After it boils again once broth is added reduce temperature to low and over.
  7. Leave your sauce for 3 hours in order to get mouthwatering delicious bolognese.
  8. Stir every so often (probably around every 30ish minutes) so the meat and veggies don’t stick to the bottom.
  9. After 3 hours taste your sauce, and if it is too acidic stir in your sugar and milk. Let that marry with the sauce still on low for about 30 minutes.
  10. Boom. Done. Enjoy.

This makes a TON of sauce. I normally freeze half of it in an airtight dish. I recommend glass, so it won’t get stained.

I hope you make this recipe, and love it as much as my family and I do! ❤

Leave a Reply

